maiopatient.blogg.se

Neil young live on the way home tell me why
Neil young live on the way home tell me why




neil young live on the way home tell me why

L OS ANGELES - Neil Young went on a journey through his past last night. And honestly, even if I had been close enough to snap a shot with my cruddy Blackberry, I wouldn’t have risked it for fear of being tossed.) I didn’t take any pictures at the show because I was at the back. (Note: Aside from the collage at the top of the page - taken from the DVD release dedicated to the event - all the pictures in this piece are stock artist photos.

neil young live on the way home tell me why

All in all, it was a pretty good night in L.A. We exchanged pleasantries, and then I moved over to the other side of the room near the soundboard and watched the show, after which I dashed back to my hotel room and wrote the review below. I tried to blend in by hanging around the back, where I suddenly found myself standing next to Beck. After noticing that the lanyard on my press pass was the same colour as the paying guests’ passes, I turned my pass around, waited until a crowd was going in, got in the middle and breezed past security. So I did what any good reporter would do: I snuck in. Naturally, when I got there, that turned out to be a total lie. I asked the Grammy publicists if I would be able to see the show, and they repeatedly assured me that while I couldn’t be in the room, I could watch a closed-circuit feed elsewhere in the building. That year the honouree was Neil Young, so naturally I was supposed to cover that as well. The biggest of them is the annual MusiCares Tribute Concert and gala banquet.

neil young live on the way home tell me why

Photo by Shout! Factory Back in 2010, I was in Los Angeles to attend and cover the Grammy Awards, along with all the other sideshows that take place during the week.






Neil young live on the way home tell me why